Finishing oil paint experiment on plastic

As mentioned I needed to let my oil painting dry before adding highlights and shadows. This is what I did today.

  • By adding highlights and shadows within the composition (chiaroscuro) I was able to add depth and convey the energy of the ripples in the sea.
  • Painting alongside the ridges, made with the crumpled plastic, worked really well in emphasising the depth within the composition.
IMG_3591.jpg
Outcome

I learnt from this piece that manipulating the plastic to create the ripples in the sea works really well in enhancing the quality of the piece. I need to take this information forward. However, next time I need to ensure I don’t use as much plastic and have it sticking off the surface too much as parts of this composition appear clumsy because of this issue.

Leave a comment